The Appointment

The student arrived late

in a wrinkled concert t-shirt

a faint coffee stain

highlighting a band’s name I had never heard of

 

and with a worn backpack

slipping down his still thin adolescent spine

zippers open

the contents more outside than inside

 

It was a 2.0 semester

mostly Cs, one with a minus

and a B+ thrown in

 

“How are things going? “ I ask.

“Okay,” he says, with a slight shrug

eyes grazing the oriental rug

 

“You are off academic probation, that’s great.” I say.

“Yeah.” he replies.

 

“I see you’ve registered for 15 credits for next semester.   Do you feel that you can manage this many credits well?”

“I think so.”

“Are you working?”

I pry.

 

“Yup. 30 hours a week at Jimmy John’s. Sometimes more.”

“That’s a lot of Jimmy John’s.”

 

“Yeah, we have some bills to pay since Mom left.   The lights, you know.”

“Umm. “

“Yeah.”

 

Silence.

 

“Dad left a while ago and Mom, well, it’s just me and Paul my younger brother.”

Listen.

Leadership manifests in surprising ways

 

“You amaze me.” I say quietly. “Look at all you’ve accomplished. I am proud of you.”

“Thank you,” he smiles ever so briefly and looks up at me

 

this abandoned child

this courageous leader

teaching me from across a desk in an ordinary university office

what extraordinary leadership can look like.

Leave a comment